Poems and Stories

I love reading poems and stories about the landscape and have decided to add some of my favorites to this blog around the third full week of the month (each month!).  Today I’m sharing with you a poem by Robert Frost that was published way back in 1915 that I think is really beautiful and has meaning in today’s more modern world.  I first found this poem on the National Woodland Trust’s Facebook Page

The Road Not Taken

Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

 And sorry I could not travel both

 And be one traveler, long I stood

 And looked down one as far as I could

 To where it bent in the undergrowth;

 Then took the other, as just as fair

 And having perhaps the better claim,

 Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

 Though as for that the passing there

 Had worn them really about the same,

 And both that morning equally lay

 In leaves no step had trodden black.

 Oh, I kept the first for another day!

 Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

 I doubted if I should ever come back.

 I shall be telling this with a sigh

 Somewhere ages and ages hence:

 Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —

I took the one less traveled by,

 And that has made all the difference.

To me this poem is about making, or not making decisions, trying to see where the path will take you depending on your choice, future planning and your own personal journey (whether it be spiritual, self improvement or educational or any other kind of personal journey).  It talks of looking at and comparing paths, the first being worn and well trodden and the other being grassy and green, less worn, and in the end the writer chooses the road less traveled, to me this means following or making your own journey, not following in anyone’s footsteps and choosing your own path and I really like that meaning.

Of course, you could look at the poem as being written by someone who is weighing up which path to choose for the better adventure, or just as a person out for a walk and pondering the sights that confront him.

Whatever way you look at it, the poem that Frost wrote is still a beautiful piece.

What is your favorite poem about walking?

Next month’s poem or story piece will be published on 16th February, so come back then for the next work I share!

Leave a Reply

