Walking when Unwell

It’s that time of year when the kids are back in school, the outside temperature starts dropping, everywhere becomes damp and gloomy and the coughs and colds and bugs start to emerge and circulate.  Today’s blog looks at walking when ill and whether you should continue or rest up (and a few home remedies to help!)

As you may be aware I have not met my target steps per day because I have felt unwell, either I have had a cold, aches and pains or generally felt run down.  I have listened to what my body has needed and stayed home to rest and recuperate.

I’m not going to tell you not to walk or when you should and shouldn’t walk depending on your illness, what I am going to say though is to use common sense.  If you have a high temperature, aches and pains, shortness of breath, sickness and diarrhea or a headache it is probably best to stay at home, you could be in danger of fainting or falling with these symptoms.  On the other hand, if you have a sore throat, a blocked nose or a bit of a cough then I, personally, would still go out and have a walk around, sometimes getting away from centrally heated or air conditioned rooms, or rooms where there is stale air, can do you the world of good.

Only you can judge whether you are fit enough to go walking, listen to what your body is telling you and if in doubt ask yourself “Would I go to work or be around others feeling like this?” If the answer is no then I’d stay at home.  Having a few days out from walking will do you good in this case and help you to get better soon.

And if you are feeling unwell from a cold or any germs then I have a few things to suggest that see me through…

Sanpelligrino Lemonata from a can.  This fizzy beverage cuts through the gunk in your throat like nothing else.  It is sharp and acidic and definitely not for kids.  And the vitimin C in it will help boost your cold fighting capabilities.

Any supermarket own brand cold and flu capsules.  These capsules normally contain paracetamol and ibuprofen and other medicines that act to unblock your nose, bring down temperatures and deal with aches and pains.  Always read the packet before purchasing.

Soup is always a good one for colds.  And hot buttered toast.  I don’t know how or why it works but it does, and it doesn’t matter about the flavor you choose either (though I prefer mushroom or tomato).  Its best served on the sofa and in pjs with a blanket.

And now, how many steps did I manage yesterday?

img_8765

I surprised myself by hitting my 10,000 steps a day target!  🙂

Leave a Reply

