Today is my Birthday and each year we go somewhere for it.  This year I chose to go to Westonbirt Arboretum with my partner, best friend and her son which we visited yesterday.

Westonbirt Arboretum is located near Tetbury in Gloucestershire, which is about a 45 minute drive from where I live and costs £9 per adult and £6 per child for autumn admittance.  (It is worth checking their website for the correct pricing before you visit as prices vary depending on the season.)

We got to the Arboretum around 10:30am and the car park was already filling up, it was fairly busy at the entrance however the crowds dissipated as you walked further around.  We chose to go on the Tree Top walk in the newer “Silk Wood” part of the Arboretum.  This walk has lots to look at and see and several interactive educational sections along the way, a “crows nest” in one of the trees which you can go up for a better view and interactive look outs for children to use.  Just off the Tree Top walk was a wood carving of dogs and I fully expected to see more carvings and “arts and crafts” things dotted around – I didn’t which was a slight disappointment, but what I did see fully made up for that!  There was a place for you to attempt to build a den where the Forestry Commission had left cut branches out for the activity which we tried.  And the trees, well, the pictures should do the talking from here….

If you want to find out more about Westonbirt Arboretum then visit their page!

So, what a fantastic pace to visit and get some steps in…Did I manage to hit my 10,000 step target on this visit?

img_8648

Of course!  I was exploring and having an amazing time which made it a breeze to hit my step target!

Leave a Reply

