Summer Walks Throwback Part 1 – Port Eynon

In the summer my partner and I have a few weeks off from work on annual leave, we pack the camper and head off toward the coast for a few days packed with exploring, walking and beach combing!  This year was no exception!  In our first week off I had booked us to stay at a campsite called Carreglwyd sited in the Gower, South Wales and a stones throw away from the beach of Port Eynon.  We used this campsite as a base and explored the area’s coastal paths each day.  In the evening we consulted the map (OS Explorer series) and decided where we would like to go.  We almost always ended our walks in the town of Port Eynon where there was a pub – The Ship, which not only served some lovely food but was also dog friendly, where we would quench our thirst with a lovely pint, a bite to eat and a chat before heading back to my van!

Coastal areas have always interested me and captured my imagination.  I love how there are so many different terrains to explore, from sandy beaches to rocky coastal paths, green pasture land and woods.  I always imagine what they would have been like in times gone by and I’m always on the look out for treasures of some kind!

Here are a few photos from the walks we did.

 

And finally, before I go, did I hit my 10,000 steps target yesterday?

 

img_8506

I didn’t… I went shopping in the day with my partner and did some housework.  Roxy was really tired from playing with Rolo the day before so only wanted a short walk so we had a rest day.

Leave a Reply

