Fall Fillers

There is something lovely about going for a walk in the autumn, when the leaves are starting to turn and there is a chill in the air, and returning home to a warming, filling, homemade meal.  Today I am going to share with you some of my favorite Fall Fillers that can be made in advance of your walk or be left to cook while you are out on your walk so they are ready upon your return.

The first one I am going to cover is a Jacket Potato, this, for me is the ultimate in fall foods.

They take a while to cook and you can mix and match fillings depending on what you have around the house, put them in the oven, head out and on your return they will be pretty much ready to eat. I tend to choose a medium sized potato, rinse it under the tap to dampen down, prick the skin with a fork a few times, I then take a handful of coarse sea salt and rub it over the potato before putting into the oven for around an hour and a half.   The skin pricks help the potato to cook and let out some of the steam that can build up when cooking, the salt acts to crisp up the skin and add a bit of flavor. I will have mine filled with either tuna and cheese or cheese and beans normally but have had it with chilli or vegetarian sausage ragout too.

Vegetable Stew is another favorite of mine.

You can make a batch of it and freeze portions to microwave up when you come in from walks or make it fresh to take with you or return home to after!  Again, with this recipe, you can use whatever vegetables you have lying around the kitchen.  Some of my favorite vegetables to use are potatoes, leek, mushroom, pepper, tomatoes, onion, carrot and parsnip.  I start off by preparing the veg, I don’t really bother with peeling any of them but cut everything into similar sized chunks of around an inch cubed, add to a pan and cover with water before bringing to the boil.  Don’t add too much water, just enough to cover the veg at this point!  I then crumble in 1 or 2 veg stock cubes, add some garlic and wait til the potatoes and carrots start to soften a bit.  I then add a tin of chopped tomatoes and often a tin of kidney beans or lentils go in too!  Keep on a rolling boil for a bit, add extra water, herbs, salt, pepper or other flavoring enhancers then leave to stand, serve or put in a flask and head out.  This is lovely with a bit of crusty bread!

img_4470

You can make a simple soup using the same recipe and method as above but cut the chunks a lot smaller, add an extra stock cube and more water and cook until the veg is soft.  You can either serve it as it is or blend it down until smooth.

And lastly,

img_8496

Lentil mince is my final fail safe fall filler which you can serve with pasta, rice, veg, jacket potatoes or enjoy on its own.  To make you will need both a frying pan and saucepan.  I use a whole bag of dried red lentils and place these in the saucepan with water to cover them, adding a veg stock cube at the same time, I bring these to the boil until soft.  While the lentils are boiling I cut and fry mushrooms, onion and pepper with a bit of garlic then add these in to the lentil pan.  I continue to boil the lentils and add a tin of chopped tomatoes and red kidney beans (drained and rinsed) into the pan and bring back to boiling.  Once the lentils are fully cooked you can then serve and enjoy!

I hope you like these fall filler ideas!  What foods do you enjoy after walking in autumn?

And finally, yesterdays stats… Did I reach my goal of 10,000 steps?

img_8497

I didn’t 😦 .  I did, however, spend a lovely evening with my best friend and her son, making cake and catching up, which I think was time well spent!

Leave a Reply

