4 Weeks In – Overview

It’s hard to imagine that 4 weeks ago I began this step challenge for Cancer Research.  Aiming to walk 10,000 steps a day has become something that is no longer a conscious thought, but an unconscious one.  I get up in the morning and, though I know that Walk All Over Cancer is still ongoing, it’s like it has become part of my everyday life.  I’m not going to say that it has been plain sailing to get here, as with anything you do that is not part of your day-to-day routine, you will have hard days and days where you feel like just giving up or days where you have not succeeded as well as you hoped.  That has happened the most in this last week, where the days have been getting shorter, nights darker and mornings seeming to start later and later.  There have been times in this past week where I have come home from work and just wanted to get a hot cup of tea and sit on the sofa with a good book and relax, and times where I have thought to myself “I can’t do this”, “maybe I should just give up”, but I have carried on as I know that each step I take could help to fund research into cancer treatment.  And each day that I have these thoughts, however fleeting, about not being able to do it, or wanting to give up, I have pushed myself and coaxed myself into carrying on and for those days I feel especially proud of myself for keeping on going.

I am pleased to say that in the last week, despite finding the going a bit more tough than the first few weeks I have managed to  take 76216 steps in total (averaging at 10888 per day), that’s roughly 24.7miles that I have covered (39.75km) and have done a total of 6 hours of exercise.

Despite this last week being harder than I thought it was going to be I have enjoyed being out and about.  Here are some photos that I have taken on my walks in the last week.  I count myself really lucky to have seen all these things and that being outside has had an impact on my heath, both mentally and physically.

So, yesterdays stats…did I reach the “magic” number?

image

I hit target!!!

I am aiming to walk 10,000 steps a day for the whole of september in order to raise money for Cancer Research, if you would like to sponsor me or donate, you can visit my Just Giving page where a few clicks will see your donation added to the cause.

Leave a Reply

