Easy Ways to Boost Your Steps

There are lots of ways you can boost your steps even if you lead a fairly sedentary lifestyle, here are few ideas that have helped me boost my step count each day –

Parking a few spaces further away from work than you normally do, for me this has helped to add around 50/80 extra steps a day to my target.

Going for a walk at lunch time, even if it’s only 10 minutes, you are still adding steps that count towards your move goal!  You could get together with a few friends and go for a walk together.  I have been able to add around 2500 steps to my figures with a half hour walk at lunch.  Walking at lunch has seemed to improve my productivity after lunch and I have noticed feeling less sleepy in the afternoon.

Use the toilets that are further away from your office.  We have toilets on the ground floor and another lot up 2 flights of stairs which can add around 60-100 extra steps each time you go to the loo.

When waiting for the kettle to boil, food to cook or the dog to finish in the garden pace around the kitchen or garden, it seems to make time go a bit faster while waiting

When on the phone see how many laps of the house you can do, up and down stairs and into each room will add extra steps without you thinking about it.  Going up and down the stairs is good cardio exercise too!

When doing housework, don’t try and carry everything from one place to another in one go, break down the load into smaller amounts and make 2 or 3 more journeys instead.

Find longer routes to go places – we have a shop at the top of our road which is around 750 steps away by the quickest route but I can double or triple that by using alternates

If you use public transport often try getting off the bus one stop before or after the usual stop and walking back to where you need to be, or if you use a taxi, get them to drop you a street away from your destination and walk the rest of the way.

Offer to make tea in work, you can get a lot of steps in and a break from your desk in the process!

Walk to speak to someone rather than phoning or emailing them if they work in your vacinity.

If you go shopping and use your car, park in a different carpark than normal or further away from the store so you have to walk a bit further to get to the store and back.

During tv ad breaks, get up and do a few laps of the house or see how many times you can go up and down the stairs in that 3 minute break, see if you can better the amount in the next break!  This makes adding steps a small challenge and fun at the same time!

If you have any other fun ideas for adding to your step goal, leave me a comment below!!!  🙂

And now to see if I hit 10,000 steps yesterday….

image

I didn’t 😦 I went to my parents for tea and was going to walk with Roxy down to their house but it was too warm for Roxy to do so much walking so I drove down.  I may not have hit my target but I am happy with the steps I did manage to get in and I got to see my Mum and Dad who I haven’t seen for ages.

The website for the Walk All Over Cancer fundraiser says “Don’t fret if you have an off day. You could always make the steps up on a nice weekend walk with the family – or just put in a bit of extra effort and make up the numbers across the next week.” which I will definitely be doing!

I am aiming to walk 10,000 steps a day for the whole of september in order to raise money for Cancer Research, if you would like to sponsor me or donate, you can visit my Just Giving page where a few clicks will see your donation added to the cause.

Leave a Reply

