3 Weeks In

Today marks 3 weeks into the 10,000 Steps a Day Challenge (Walk All Over Cancer), I have 9 days left to complete after today which does not seem a lot at all.    This week I have taken a total of 71965 steps (of that 7560 was doing housework) which equates to 28.09 miles or 45.2065 kms.  This figure includes the 7560 steps converted from 105mins of housework.  The average steps per day is 10,280 steps per day this week which I am, again, really pleased with as I have had 2 off days where I was travelling a lot but have still managed to maintain an average of over 10,000 steps.

This week I have found the going pretty hard, I have been achy and tired and at times I have felt like giving up, but I have still been heading out each night.  I think this week has been a struggle as the evenings are now getting shorter, it’s definitely turning Autumn-y out there!  I think I might have said before but trying to fit 7500 steps in of a night can be hard work, I am trying to sneak more steps into my day though (and I will be blogging about getting more steps into your day later in the week), in order to bring down the amount I’m having to squeeze in after work.  I think I worry, too, that I’m not going to hit my target and will let my sponsors down.  I also feel a bit rushed in the evenings as there is less time before it gets dark to go out and explore with Roxy which doesn’t help matters.

However, aside from feeling a bit rushed and tired, and sometimes achy, I am still really loving my walks, once I am out and moving the aches and tiredness seem to go and I can lose myself in the outside world for a bit.  I don’t realise I have been out for so long sometimes as it will feel like I have just left my home and returned 10mins later, but they say that time moves fast when you are having fun!  I do feel less achy when I get home from my walks and I have been sleeping pretty well too.  Overall I have found that I am feeling less stressed or worried, happier and have also noticed that I am not getting as stressed on a day to day basis, it’s like the calmness I feel when walking stays with me for the following day.

So, what can you expect from me for the next week?  Well, I still have not walked to Cwmbran yet, my parents have been away and are now back so I am hoping to get to theirs one day this coming week (if so I will share the walk and some photos with you when I do!) I will be sharing a post about boosting your steps each day, talking about the weather and hopefully some more interesting things about walking!

Now for yesterdays stats…Did I hit my 10,000 steps for the day?

img_8261

Of course!

I am aiming to walk 10,000 steps a day for the whole of september in order to raise money for Cancer Research, if you would like to sponsor me or donate, you can visit my Just Giving page where a few clicks will see your donation added to the cause.

Leave a Reply

