Walking Route – Cycle Track

The cycle track is one of my go to walks whatever the weather.  I love that the path is smooth and tarmaced and you can walk for hours through lovely wooded areas, see streams and wildlife, flowers and birds.  The walk is fairly easy, on a slight incline (so slight I never noticed until I looked at the stats on my Map My Run app, though the website http://www.sustrans.org.uk/ncn/map/route/pontypool-blaenavon-cycle-route says the climb is “steady” and it “rises up 200feet to Blaenavon) and has places on the way to stop and rest if you wanted to.

The cycle track is a hive of activity, most days there are poeple walking their dogs, cycling or even horses being ridden up and down.  In the past the cycle track had a different life, it used to be a railway linking Pontypool to Blaenavon.  You can see remnants of its past life in the bridges you pass under, old station stops you pass through, buildings that have been re-purposed and the run off streams running beside the path.

I join the cycle track in Wainfelin, just down from the ambulance station, follow the track past the Little Crown and the steps for Branches Fork Meadow, and along to Pentrepiod, past old railway buildings that have been turned into a kind of animal holding area and along to Abersychan before turning around and heading back.  This walk is usually between 8 and 10km for me.  I plan on walking further, up to Blaenavon, one day soon.

I shall share some of my photos of this walk later in the week but right now I’m going to share yesterdays stats with you all…

img_8096

If you would like to sponsor me in my challenge of 10,000 steps a day (or Walk All Over Cancer) where I am raising money for Cancer Research, please visit my Just Giving page where a few simple steps will see your donation added to the charity!

 

Leave a Reply

