Walking Routes – A Woodland Adventure

I am going to try and post once a week about the walks that I go on, the terrain type, ease of walking the route and any other information that I have about the walking route.

The first in this series is one of my favourite walks!  I love walking through woods and have done since a child when my Grandma would take my brothers and I out in the day.  I stumbled upon this route quite by accident, with a touch of curiosity and nosiness thrown in for good measure!

The walk starts off on the cycle track that runs up towards Blaenavon, I join it just between Tesco (Pontypool) and the Little Crown Inn (Wainfelin).  The cycle track is tarmaced and the path is fairly flat until we get past the Little Crown where there is a short climb up, its not too much of a strain or too steep to worry about too much.  We then pass through a type of gate, one that makes it a bit awkward for cyclists as they often need to dismount to pass through it, and continue on the path for probably another kilometer and a half.  On the left you will see a few steps going up toward a swing gate which you need to pass thorugh.  To the right will be an information board about the area that you are now in.  This area is called Branches Fork Meadow.  It is worth looking at the information board, it tells you about all the wildlife you may glimpse along the way!  In the spring the areas under the trees are thick with bluebells and its such a lovely sight!

The terrain has now changed to mud, rocks and tree roots, it is fairly uneven, (you will need to be fairly stable on your feet to negotiate the walk from here), and we begin a short climb up into the woods, follow the worn path directly up and you will come to another swing gate (which is broken at the moment…) and enter the woods.  From here I tend to keep going forward, following the path.  There are lots and lots of different paths you can now take and I shall leave the choice up to you!  You are now in charge of your own adventure!  But a word of warning, stick to the well worn paths, I sometimes don’t and before now have been armpit deep in bracken and up to my knees in boggy mud!

Here are a few of my favourite photos from my woodland walks!IMG_7076IMG_7079IMG_7004IMG_7006IMG_6489IMG_6501

And now to reveal fridays stats…did I manage 10,000 steps?

IMG_8019

I did indeed!!!

I am aiming to walk 10,000 steps a day for the whole of september in order to raise money for Cancer Research, if you would like to sponsor me or donate, you can visit my Just Giving page where a few clicks will see your donation added to the cause.

One thought on “Walking Routes – A Woodland Adventure

Leave a Reply

