The “kit” I’m Using

I say kit…and to many people embarking on a walking challenge, one of the first things they would probably do is go out and buy a whole ton of expensive equipment..boots, clothes, bag, water container etc.  I think arming yourself with decent kit is  good idea but for the walks I am going to be doing just having decent, comfortable walking shoes or boots will suffice.  I had been walking the same routes in wellies or trainers but decided a few weeks ago to treat myself to a pair of proper walking boots which will clad my feet when we go on holidays (I’m a big fan of cliff top walks and hiking through woodland and over stony beaches).  I chose a pair of Hi Tec Vibram boots which I purchased on a trip to Brecon in Gibbs The Outdoor Shop on High Street, I highly recommend them, the staff member who served me was really helpful and knew all about the shoe I was interested in!  I have no idea of the model of shoe but I do know that they fit and are comfy and waterproof which is what I was looking for in a shoe.  They were in the sale and cost £60 which, to me, is a bit of an investment as the last pair of shoes I had to walk in (Tesco special’s!) were only £10 in the sale!

My only other bit of kit is my step counter…I have had one for over 9 months now and love how it functions to tell me when I have reached each 1000 steps ad has an idle setting (set for every 15 mins) which vibrates when I have been sedentry for too long.  The kind I chose was a bracelet variety in the shape of the Jawbone Up2 (https://jawbone.com/store/buy/up2?color=light_grey&design=hex ).  It links to my phone and I get to see a clear picture of my steps as it happens, it also tracks my sleep patterns and you can log food to it as well.

I say that is all my kit, but Im pretty reliant, as well, on my phone as it links to my step counter (essential for this challenge if you ask me!) and I use an app to clock my walks – Map My Run which gives information such as km travelled, minutes per km and other interesting info at the end of the walk such as how high you have climbed, the difference in speed of each km and other statistics.  I will probably share some of these screenshots of information with you as we progress on this challenge!

I shall be sharing todays step count with you all tomorrow, right now the day has not yet finished and I could still add to my total for for the day!

If you would like to sponsor me in my challenge of 10,000 steps a day (or Walk All Over Cancer) where I am raising money for Cancer Research, please visit my Just Giving page where a few simple steps will see your donation added to the charity!

Leave a Reply

