Why I chose the 10,000 Steps a Day Challenge (or Walk All Over Cancer)

IMG_7966

I have signed up to the Walk All Over Cancer step challenge run by Cancer Research, it starts tomorrow.  All I need to do is walk 10,000 steps a day for the next month, covering no less than 300,000 steps in total, moving my feet for 12 hours at a rate of 13.8888 steps per minute, sounds easy doesn’t it?  But, in the day I work a, mainly, sedentary job save for the odd toilet break/shuffle to the vending machine or staff room for refreshments or snacks, or a quick scoot off to the print room, approx. 70 steps from my desk to retrieve some prints… My point being, I don’t move a lot at all in my 7.5hr a day desk job which means I have to get my steps in during the evening after work.  This is not the main reason for taking on the challenge, more like a small part of it – I know I need to move more and get fitter, to me that is just a side effect of what I am about to embark on…

I love walking and being out doors, I love a challenge, I like to explore, targets are fun to meet…the list goes on…

The real reason?  I have never had a relative or friend struck with cancer, but I know a ton of people who have, friends who have lost loved ones, workmates who have had to give up work to nurse their parents, then make the gut wrenching decision to send them to a hospice, heard others speak of loss and it breaks my heart.  While I have not lost anyone due to the disease, I know plenty who have.  And Cancer is not picky who it attacks, the young, old, healthy, weak, good people, bad people, it doesn’t care.  Too many lives have been cut short and I believe that with a lot of research and money invested into medicines and treatment, we can slowly stamp it out.

I should also let you know that I will be trying to blog each day about my adventures with meeting my 10,000 steps a day, how I met them and showing you some pictures of my walks!  Come back and visit tomorrow to hear about Day 1 of the 10,000 challenge 🙂

If you would like to help me raise some funds towards helping the guys behind Cancer Research then visit my Just Giving Page to donate today.

Leave a Reply

